About Montana Trails, Recreation & Park Assocation

wayfarers-about

Parks are iconic staples in community. Recreation brings community together. Trails connect community to nature for that much needed outdoor time. Parks and Recreation matter so much to our livelihood. Numerous studies have provided information linking improved mental/physical health, community involvement, and economic benefits with he presence of trails, recreation, and parks. Yet, funding and road blocks constantly threaten these important entities. We are on a mission to help Montana preserve and utilize our parks, trails, and recreation resources across the state while supporting the growth of our professional industry behind the scenes of these beloved areas and programs.

Support MTRPA

Your parks, your recreation, and your trails need your support! Our membership opportunity gives individuals, groups, organizations, and commercial businesses the chance to support their state’s parks and recreation association. By becoming a member of the Montana Trails Recreation and Parks Association, you are supporting mission. 

Conferences

We hold an annual MTRPA Conference in the spring and a fall conference at Montana League of Cities and Towns inviting park and recreation entities and affiliates to learn, grow, and come together on current topics in the field. This provides education, networking, and community growth opportunities for professionals, businesses, and organizations across the state.

Legislative Platform

Your parks, your recreation, and your trails need your support! Our membership opportunity gives individuals, groups, organizations, and commercial businesses the chance to support their state’s parks and recreation association. By becoming a member of the Montana Trails Recreation and Parks Association, you are supporting mission. 

Member of NRPA

The MTRPA represents our beautiful state of Montana as member of the National Recreation and Parks Association. Visit NRPA.org to learn more.

MTRPA Board of Directors

Our MTRPA Board of Directors are working hard towards our mission educating members and non members of the MTRPA with valuable resources to support our state’s recreation and parks.

President

Mitch Overton – Director
Bozeman Parks & Recreation
415 North Bozeman Ave
Bozeman, MT 59715
MOverton@bozeman.net

President Elect

Maria Butts – Director
Whitefish Parks & Recreation Dept.
504 Central Ave
Whitefish, MT 59937
mbutts@cityofwhitefish.org

Past President

Mike Whitaker– Director
Billings Parks & Recreation Dept.
390 North 23rd Street
Billings, MT 59101
whitakerm@billingsmt.gov

Secretary/Treasurer

POSITION VACANT

Inquire by email contact@mtrpa.info

Website/Communications

Danielle Beaudin
Missoula Parks & Recreation Dept.
600 Cregg Lane
Missoula, MT 59801
BeaudinD@ci.missoula.mt.us

Membership

Jamie Saitta
Bozeman Parks & Recreation
415 North Bozeman Ave
Bozeman, MT 59715
jsaitta@bozeman.net

Advisory Team

Donna Gaukler – Director
Missoula Parks & Recreation Dept.
600 Cregg Ln.
Missoula, MT 59801
GauklerD@ci.missoula.mt.us

Advisory Team

Steve Herrig – Director
Great Falls Parks & Recreation Dept.
1700 River Dr. North
Great Falls, MT 59403
sherrig@greatfallsmt.net

Advisory Team

Pat Doyle – Marketing & Communications
Montana State Parks
PO Box 200701
Helena, MT 59601
PDoyle@mt.gov

Trails Representative

Bob Walker – Montana Trails Coalition
Bob_mttrails@outlook.com

Student Liaison

Jenn Thomsen
University of Montana
32 Campus Drive #1234
Missoula, MT 59812
jennifer.thomsen@mso.umt.edu

Aquatics

Elizabeth Hill – Aquatics Facilities Supervisor
Great Falls Parks & Recreation
Great Falls, MT 59403
ehill@bozeman.net

Student Board Member

TBA Mid-Year Meeting 2022

Tribal Board Member

New Position! 

Inquire by email contact@mtrpa.info

Want to get involved?

Sponsors, vendors, members, volunteers, and board members make our efforts possible.

Contact us and Become a Member